Gathering of the Clan

A Gathering of Fly Fishermen
It is currently Sat Jun 23, 2018 1:24 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: I guite a little axcited
PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 7:33 pm 

Thursday evening I'm going to Indianapolis to the Vogue Theater to see The Infamous Stringdusters. I'm sure most of you here have never heard of them. All I can say is do yourself a favor and go to YouTube. Pull up the band name and for an introduction to the Stringdusters take a look at Night On The River, the official music video. I love this kind of music and am going to see two bands in the next month that sort of embody what I love. I started playing Dobro about a year and a half ago and the Stringdusters have an absolute savant of a Dobro player.

The official video was shot on the middle fork of the Salmon River.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 7:58 pm 

Thanks!

PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 8:21 pm 

That is some awesome (an overused word completely deserved in this case) music.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 9:25 pm 

I believe they play a little bluegrass.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 10:41 pm 

If you like string music, here's a link to a relative of mine, Lowe Stokes, a pretty significant fiddler of 1928 or so and up till now. He got his right hand shot off at a liquor still at sometime but had a hook made to hold the bow and carried on. It was rough times back then, Lowe was shot three times and stabbed twice. He was related to my father (first cousin) and died in 1983 after a long life. A famous musician and very talented and I doubt he could read a bit of music.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hXBiJQJ-MWE

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 5:25 am